Aug 5, 2014

Posted by in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Crave the Night by Lara Adrian (Midnight Breed #12)

cravethenight4 star

Paranormal Romance
August 5 2014
288 pages
Delacorte Press
Received from publisher

Yummy Man – Nathan
Kick Ass Chick – Jordana

From Goodreads –
Born and raised to be an emotionless killing machine, Nathan is one of the most lethal Breed vampires in existence. A key member of the Order—an elite group of warriors charged with protecting both mortals and vampires—Nathan executes each mission with flawless precision and a total lack of mercy. Now he must pursue a powerful, hidden enemy. But Nathan’s hard discipline and training are no match for the fierce pull he feels toward a young woman he has no right to desire—a woman of wealth and high social standing who has long been promised to another Breed male, and who may also prove to be the key to rooting out Nathan’s elusive quarry.

Jordana lives a life of glittering privilege as a member of a prominent Breed family in Boston. Surrounded by fine things and fawning admirers, Jordana wants for nothing—until she crosses paths with a dark, intense warrior from the Order and finds herself swept into an impulsive, sizzling kiss that neither of them will forget. As much as she tries to deny her deep feelings for Nathan, Jordana cannot resist the craving to be near him, to break through his forbidding walls and see the man he truly is. But getting close to Nathan will thrust Jordana into a treacherous new world, forcing her to risk all she has and all she knows about herself and her past. And loving this seductive man could be the most dangerous temptation of all.


Crave the Night is the twelfth book in Lara Adrian’s popular Midnight Breed series. The last book opened up an entirely new chapter for this series. Where the first ten books are about how members of the Breed’s Order (basically vampire warriors) meet their mates while fighting some pretty horrible people and…things, the last, current and next installments take place twenty years after the first ten books and focus on the children of the hero and heroines from the first batch of books.

This latest installment features Nathan, Hunter and Corinne’s son, who we originally met as a child in book nine. He was raised from birth to be a Hunter of his kind. Once his mother rescued him, he learned to become a fighter for his kind. But that doesn’t mean that the hardness that was drilled into him as a boy is gone. Not by any means.

Nathan is my favorite sort of tortured hero. Cold and seemingly unfeeling until he meets a woman who turns his world upside-down. I love watching heroes like that crack. There is a certain innocence and vulnerability to Nathan deep under his extremely hard exterior and I liked how he came around by the end. How he opened up and changed. It wasn’t forced or unnatural – it fit him perfectly.

Jordana was a solid match for Nathan. In book eleven she kissed him and that is what really started everything. Jordana had her life planned out, mostly by other people, so this blip in that plan is not only taking her by surprise but also her family. None feel that a warrior like Nathan is a suitable mate for someone as refined as her. I liked how Lara made Jordana polished but not snobby or clueless. She does not run away from difficult situations.

There was a twist about Jordana that is revealed near the end and I have to say I never saw it coming. I mean…never. I tip my hat to Lara for that one. Very well played. It’s always sort of fun, while reading these paranormal romance books where one main character is immortal and the other not necessarily, to find out how the author will make a HEA possible. Sometimes it’s great. Other times, no so much. This time, it was well done.

There was a new possible ultimate villain introduced in the last book and we are trying to learn more about him/them in this installment. I like how the continuing storyline is progresses. Most is still a huge mystery so it makes you want to read more.

This is the last book in this series that Lara will be releasing via major publisher. The rest will be self-published. It’s what she feels is best for the series and for herself. That means many more books. Yay! But that also means no easy information about the next book. I wonder if it will feature Rune and Carys? They were mentioned and seen quite a bit in this book and seem to have a pretty intense story brewing.

Crave the Night continued the series very well. As you can tell, I am still really enjoying this series. Even after 12 books, Lara still manages to keep it fresh and entertaining. I think fans of vampire romance books with a twist should check this series out.

4 stars

Books in the Midnight Breed series –
Kiss of Midnight
Kiss of Crimson
Midnight Awakening
Midnight Rising
Veil of Midnight
Ashes of Midnight
Shades of Midnight
Taken by Midnight
Deeper Than Midnight
Darker After Midnight
Edge of Dawn
Crave the Night


  1. Great Julie! Sounds good 🙂 I’m almost finished listening to Dark Sky 🙂 and this is next on my list. I’m glad the new direction seems to be working.
    Thanks Julie!

  2. This unique blog is no doubt educating as well as amusing. I have found a lot of helpful things out of it. I ad love to go back every once in a while. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *