Aug 28, 2014

Posted by in Reviews | 1 Comment

Anne’s Early Review: Haunted by Kay Hooper (Bishop / Special Crimes Unit #15)

haunted3 star

Paranormal Romance – ish
September 2 2014
320 pages
Berkley Hardcover
Received from publisher

Kick Ass chicks – Hollis Templeton, Trinity Nichols

From Goodreads –
How do you make peace with the dead if the dead aren’t ready to forgive? In New York Times bestselling author Kay Hooper’s new novel, the answer lies in the twisting shadows of a small town, and its secrets yet unearthed…

When Deacon James’s younger sister Melanie calls him, terrified, he goes to her aid in the small Georgia town of Sociable. What he finds is a scared young woman in the grip of what she insists is a paranormal nightmare—and murder. Two local men have been killed under mysterious circumstances. And Melanie is the prime suspect.

Trinity Nichols left a high-stress job for quiet, small-town life. But news of the murders has left her—and the town—on edge, especially when there is nothing remotely ordinary about how the men died. And her investigation is yielding more than she bargained for, including a group of strangers who have descended on Sociable, some with abilities Trinity finds hard to believe, and agendas she refuses to trust. For some reason, they know a lot more than they should about what’s happening in town. And what’s happening is growing stranger by the minute.

Now Trinity, Deacon, and this odd band of FBI agents must work together to solve a series of disturbances so incredible that Trinity, and the town of Sociable, will be changed forever. She just isn’t certain who—or what—will be left standing when it’s all over.


I saw this available from one of the publishers and was thrilled to sign up for it immediately. Haunted is the fifteenth book in Kay Hooper’s Bishop / Special Crimes Unit series. The first twelve books were all 5 star reads for me. The last two were 3 and 4 stars. I always thought of them as mysteries but they are also romances with paranormal aspects and my favorite kind – mind stuff like telepathy, telekinesis, clairvoyance, mediums, precognition and so forth. I love this which is why witches and magic top my supernatural list.

The series is a whole bunch of trilogies, at least by title. The first 3 were Shadows, the next 3 were Evil, then Fear, then Blood. The last 3 books do not share a title word but all start with H. The books have all been what I call paranormal romance, with a couple coming together as they solve or survive a mystery. Haunted barely touches on romance; there is very little of it in this story. Since I prefer some romance and some humor, which neither is present, it’s not my favorite installment.

The SCU unit of the FBI that comes to work in this town to find a suspected serial killer are people already well known to me as I have read the other 14 books previous. I would say this is a series where it really helps to read the books and read them in order, even though each book is a separate case and usually a separate romance.

I like these characters but it would have been much harder to connect to them if I didn’t already know and care about them. I’m not sure I could with just this book. Some characters, also well-known to me, are utilized briefly or only mentioned, and would not be effective or understood without the previous books.

Trinity is a new, main character in this story and I like her a lot. I thought she might even get a romance here. If that had happened, I think it would be a better book. Or perhaps, if there had been one for her friend Melanie. I guess without the romance, I found this book to be less and atypical to the series.

I read Haunted in less than 24 hours and I enjoyed it. I think if you are already knowledgeable about the characters, it is a good read. If not, it would not be the place to start, when the first 12 books are 5 star amazing reads. I hope if the series continues beyond this, it is more true to its roots.

3 stars

Books in the Bishop /Special Crimes Unit series –
Stealing Shadows
Hiding in the Shadows
Out of the Shadows
Touching Evil
Whisper of Evil
Sense of Evil
Hunting Fear
Chill of Fear
Sleeping with Fear
Blood Dreams
Blood Sins
Blood Ties

anne signature

  1. I have all of these books, love them as I am trying to read the whole series. However I’m
    Very confused what is the order of the books? I’ve read the Shadows & Evil trilogies and am just now
    Starting on the Fear trilogies but the order of them doesn’t make sense.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *